Master of Monsters Vol. 2 Ch.14 Part 1

This is my first attempt at translating so it my be a bit rough but I did my best on the damn long chapter. (nearly 4,000 words)

 

Protection and Information (part 1)

Tl: gengareric

Editor: gengareric

 

I looked into the small open space area a little ways from the gap in the trees.

A group of approximately 20 people were taking a break there.

About ten boys and girls were wearing school uniforms.

 

In addition to that, the rest were soldiers dressed in the same full-body armor as the soldiers who attacked as ghouls resting while still paying attention to the surroundings.

“…… students and the other world humans?”

 

I assumed that I would meet with one or the other, but to come across both of them together.

 

To be honest, this development is a little unexpected.

However, the surprise itself isn’t very big. This is because the situation is plausible enough if I think about it.

“It looks like other people have come in contact with the other world residents before us” 

“it seems so” 

I chimed in on Lily’s words.

 

What I should pay attention to now is what kind of position the soldiers are in and what kind of relationship they have with the students who came from the same world as me.

In other words, it reveals what kind of relationship we can build. In that sense, the amount of information obtained by observation increases, so this unexpected situation is more convenient for us.

 

“Master I think that they are probably a part of the『Stay Behind Group』.” 

Pulling the hem of my clothes Lily drew my attention.

“If you have a cheat like the『Scouting Corps』everyone shouldn’t have such a tired looking face” (Lily)  

If I was asked to confirm it, as there is some distance, I can’t see all of their expressions, but, as for boys, many that are the same age as me seem to be exhausted indeed.

“Survivors from after the colony collapsed?”

It’s the students who are in the same situation as Kato-san who are unaware of their cheat ability.

First of all I am surprised that they have remained this way. There were only a few, but I was aware of the feeling of relief that sprang up in my chest.

That there are people who survived. I am relieved at that fact.

This part is same as Kaga’s time.

I still can’t believe in humans and I don’t think that I want to dare joining them without a purpose in doing so either. My priorities are clear Lily is tops, and I will not forgive those that are hostile.

However, it seems not to be disastrously enough to think that everyone is dead. 

If you mention vague, perhaps, it is vague, but I think that this is enough.

It is much better to live than to die.

Such natural sensitivity still still exists in me.

Surely this is an important thing. Because I think if I lose my feelings as a person in that way then even with Lily and others soon I wouldn’t be able to feel them at all.

“…… but it seems that they survived well” 

Anyway now’s not the time to be immersed in such sentiments.

Whether all the movements of the heart around it are prospects, Lily has been tailored to me. 

“I’m sure they have held their breath and have lived in this forest in hiding. That was under the protection of those soldiers.” 

“If that is true, they must have had considerable luck and have been led by an excellent leader.”

“Perhaps, they were protected by a cheat user. Even the Scouting Corps that remained behind in the colony wouldn’t have been annihilated.”

 

“Aah there was such a possibility.”

 

I continued observing them while talking with Lily.

In the open space, several students whose spirit still remained called out to each other and seemed to exchange a conversation with the soldiers. Due to the distance I couldn’t hear their voices, but at least I don’t see any abuse.

 

At this point, the danger from contacting them doesn’t seems to be too high.

If so … For example, yes. Could I ask them for guidance to a human village?

If so, what should I do?

Although it’s okay to wait for the next opportunity in case of necessity, if possible, I don’t want to make a mistake.

I wanted the information about that by all means. Then, it shows that there’s room for negotiations, too.

Or there is the option of following them as it is. Even they wouldn’t wander in this forest eternally.  When following them while hiding, we should naturally arrive at a village.

 

“What should we do, Master?” 

“… for now, let’s have make contact with them.” 

 

We should be prepared, so that we can fall back in any direction. Preparations for this has already been made in advance.

 

I quickly removed the shirt recently made by Gerbera. 

And I put on the jersey top.

 

This was the first preparation.

I intend to conceal my ability to lead monsters, but in that case of how I got those clothes it would become a problem. Because if I’m wearing Gerbera’s work as before, there is a possibility that the same metastasisers may suspect the source. <metastasisers or metastasisies which is better?>

Still, with the jersey figure, it is unreliable in the case of an emergency.

Therefore I wore the underwear Rose prepared.  This can be worn under the jersey, and has a reasonable degree of defense.

 

I further wrapped an slim cloth prepared by Gerbera around my left arm.

 

Naturally this is to hide Asarina who grew on the back of my left hand.

 

“Goshu, sama! Sama!”

“Sorry, for making you feel cramped.”

“Sama!”

Because it’s a cloth woven with Gerbera’s spider thread, this also has a reasonably high defense. In addition to that on my left arm there’s still the remains of the burn marks from the encounter with the Balloon Foxes. So it wasn’t unnatural for it to be wrapped in a bandage.

“Next is the sword.”

As with the clothes, there’s also the possibility of suspicion in the『Pseudo Damascus Steel Sword』.

Therefore I was also prepared for this.

I had Rose prepare a blade cover resembling a normal Magical Puppet sword. 

 

In short the sheath was camouflaged to look like a wooden sword.   

By fitting the『Pseudo Damascus Steel Sword』in this, it is the dimension that it will look like it became the wooden swords from ordinary Magical Puppets. 

 

…… Although it’s easy to say, of course it is only possible if you have Rose’s ability to prepare such things.

 

She was utterly impressed by my request, having no idea on the concept.

I still recall the uncomfortable feeling due to being praised by her.

 

It is a life to the last to make things for Rose, and even if I am a modern person accustomed to books, cartoons, games, etc., it seem this may be one of the great inventions of the century.

However, the idea that I conveyed in some images was made the next day by adding some ideas, and it seems that it is unlikely that with the applied strength and realization strength. 

Anyway, since the usual equipment in the colony were the weapons gained from defeating the Magical Puppets, it shouldn’t seem suspicious as long as it’s disguised. Similar coating was applied to Rose’s meticulously made black shield.

I also didn’t forget to make my clothes and body suitably dirty.  This is because it would be unnatural to be too clean.

I put the backpack I got from Kaga on my back, without forgetting to put the keepsake ring from the soldier who became a ghoul in the pocket of the my jersey. The preparations are complete.

Lily and Kato-san who accompanied me also finished their preparations and we again returned to the monitoring of the humans.

“Still, they have taken quite a long break.”

“I think they are considering the weakened students”

“Perhaps  Well it’s fine. Meanwhile, we will do our best, too.”

 

We also made effective use of this time and have made a few plans for future actions.

The situation changed after dozens of minutes passed since we first found them.

“A new member?”

 

A group of about ten soldiers came from the other side of the path.

As for the direction, it’s from the same 『South』as us. Everyone was moving on foot, but despite wearing plate armor, they are approaching at an unthinkably fast pace.” 

They joined the group that were originally resting in the clearing. I thought that they were taking a unusually long break, but apparently they were waiting for the other group to catch up.

 

“……Hmm?”

 

I noticed that there was one heavily-armed soldier in dull-colored armor with a black banding pattern on a white background. 

Several soldiers are greeting him. They seemed to have received instructions.  Perhaps he is a leader of this group.

 

I was watching him while thinking and was startled shortly after.

He seemed to look around with his white helmet as if looking for something and his gaze soon settled on me. 

But that is impossible.  He can’t notice me here.

We’re a considerable distance away and are hiding in the bushes as an additional precaution. Even if we are able to see them in the clearing ahead, they should be no way for them to see us from the other side…… 

 

However, my prior judgment was overturned at once.

“Who are you!”

A voice of challenge rang out through the forest, stabbing into my heart causing me to pull back.

“We were found … … !”

 

To think such a fool, but the leader seems to be convinced that we are here. I pulled out the sword that hung on my waist while turning to face him. 

“Everyone, watch out! There is something targeting us!”

 

The clear voice rang out through the forest, a voice so young that the childishness was palpable. Perhaps he is that same age as me, maybe even younger.

 

he warning shout alerted everyone, as such busy movement was born throughout the clearing.

 

The same metastasisers as us scream and gather together, soldiers gather around to protect them. 

The encirclement was completed immediately.  

 

It appears to be a defense oriented plan. This is probably because many of the students would become a hindrance.  

 

Fortunately for us we don’t have the intention of striking immediately and rushing in, but it is unlikely to remain like this forever. 

 

Lily who was watching the clearing while sticking to my arms hugged them slightly more forcefully.   

“What should we do, master?”

“since we’ve been found we have no choice but to come out.”

Unfortunately the idea of secretly following them until reaching a village have been crushed by this.

Even of we negotiate to have them take us to the village as well, I wanted to gather more information by observing them further. However, this can’t be helped either. I give up.

This decision is necessary anyways. Just look at the situation right now. Let’s prepare ourselves for the inevitable. 

 

“There seems to be fellow classmate there, that should be enough for negotiations.”

Of course, the worst case scenario is that they will turn there swords on us.

Although we are fellow students, they won’t necessarily accept us.  

In the strategy meeting we already decided for Gerbera to swoop in in things take a turn for the worse.  I think Gerbera can easily defeat the enemy, but we will focus on causing a disruption and escaping at once. Rose would be in charge of the escape route.   

At this point when they become panicked I will call the others and fallback.   

“Rose, Gerbera. It will be goodbye for a while, but we will meet up again soon.”

“Understood. I pray for your safety.”

“Please guard lord, Ayame.”

Rose lowered her head and Ayame stroked by Gerbera peeked her nose out and crawled back into the space under Lily’s jersey.

Now the preparations for departure are complete.

I review the situation one last time, to confirm that there aren’t any oversights.

 

No matter how wary I am, you can never be too cautious. Because I can’t die for friend and others and I have to make sure my family survive. 

Therefore I’ve planned in advance, and have made preparation as well. All that is left is for me to do my best here and now.

“Yoshi, let’s go.”

Sooo. That’s it.

But perfect preparation is impossible. No matter what oversights are a possibility.  It is already an inevitability.  

One incident has already occurred.

“Kato-san?”

Behind, Rose gave a suspicious voice.

I caught sight of the figure of Kato-san who remained standing in the place when I reflexively looked back to see if something was wrong.

As I said before, she was going to meet them with us. However, after taking the first step, she had stopped walking for some reason.

“a, e……?” 

Why is it? The person herself seems to not understanding the reason, as well. A strange voice leaked out of the girl’s throat.

Soon it was filled with panting that seemed to be painful.

Kato-san’s face that was looking at me was pale. 

No. It’s different.

I immediately noticed my misunderstanding.

Kato-san was not watching me. She had become frozen, staring over my shoulder at the people we planned to make contact with.

“……Ah”

The body of Kato-san leaks a small scream,  and is unexpectedly shaking.

“Kato-san!”

 

Rose, who noticed her strange behavior first, was hugging the small body, ready to collapse from the back.

Whether something had happened to her body or not, Kato-san’s state was clearly unusual.  

The whole body was finely trembling, the breathing was irregular, and was blinking unnaturally. It seemed that she was somehow trying to get up, but she had already lost all power in her legs.

 

Presently she looked like a snowflake that would break if moved even a little. 

 

Was it a seizure caused by some disease? …… No. The timing is wrong for it to be that.

If anything it looked like Kato-san was on the verge of panic.

Fear, panic, depression.  There is none of her usual intelligent figure there.

Why in this way…… As soon as I thought that I remembered what Kato-san saw just before she was on the verge of collapse.  

A large group of people. In particular, men who account for more than half of them.

As for a reason for the abnormality, There is nothing easier to understand.

Kato-san has come to this world and has a extremely traumatic experience.  

Even if she was frightened at this stage, there is nothing wrong with it, it could even be said to be predictable as the natural thing to do. 

Then, why could I not predict this happening?

Originally Kato-san herself didn’t even expect this.

It’s a simple thing. Kato-san has never shown such an attitude for anything so far, not even once.

“So r…… rr, y. Sen, pai.”

I couldn’t recognize this little girl that was so fragile as to be trembling like this.

 

She didn’t need to be afraid me nor frightened by me either. Because I am ok, I never considered that there might be a problem, rather than recognizing the problem in other people.

After thinking back, this state becomes even stranger than I thought.  

How come she does not belong to me … No, no. Now is not the time to be thinking about such things.

Cutting off my thoughts I confirmed Kato-san’s condition.

Her lips began to turn purple. Even her breathing is not going well.

I can’t leave it like this.

“Rose.”

I gazed at Rose who was embracing Kato-san.

“I’d like you to take Kato-san and leave this place immediately.”

I have to calm Kato-san down as soon as possible.

To do that it was necessary to first move her from this place.

It’s reasonable to ask Rose to do that seeing as Kato-san is unable to walk. If you her friend Rose, Kato-san should be able to entrust her body to you with peace of mind.

“Accepted.”

The correspondence of Rose was quick.

I carefully hold the trembling Kato-san,  in order to handle her properly.

Rose will take Kato-san as she is. Naturally Kato-san can no longer accompany us, but this is something that is no longer in our control.

“So, so r, rry…… Senpai. I’m sorry.”

Kato-san apologizes in delirious words, but blaming her for this is pointless.

“Don’t worry. At this degree, it isn’t that big of a deal.”

“Senpai……”

40 thoughts on “Master of Monsters Vol. 2 Ch.14 Part 1

  1. Pingback: TOC Master of Monster | Something Decent Translations

  2. Thank you so much for the hard work! But I must ask something: did you post this chapter because the other group translating it didn’t post anything in a while or are you working with them?

    Like

    • I posted it because I applied to work with them and haven’t heard back, so both kinda. If you’re wondering why it is listed as Raising the Dead on Novel Updates that is due to a miss select and it didn’t change to my newly created group, I already contacted Novel Updates about it though.

      Like

  3. PTSD, it seems. Difficult. 😦

    Thanks so much for taking a wack at this series! I have missed it much. Good work and I hope that working on translating this continues to be fulfilling for you. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Feared of men when Kato was assaulted before Kajima rescued her maybe? Not so sure myself though. Thanks for the chapter! Been wondering when this novel was gonna be updated.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hiya,

    I am one of the Admins of the RTD. I am not sure who you contacted to apply as a translator for this series but I don’t remember seeing it in discord for the past 3 months. Do advise me who did you contact.

    Like

    • I posted on the Contact RTD and the New Years Post but I can’t seem to find the comment on Contact RTD anymore and can only see the comment on the new years post when I access it from my email for some reason. I also just joined discord to apply but have never used it but could not find where to do so since the recruitment section was restricted so I figured I’d wait for a response on the contact page, I only just noticed that it vanished since I’m not very well versed with wordpress either.

      Like

  6. Thank you for the chapter. I have a doubt about this line though:
    “How come she does not belong to me … ”
    It feels kinda out of place

    Like

    • I agree but out of all the translations that it gave me that was the closest to being acceptable so I reluctantly went with it. This was the original line どうして彼女はおれのことを……いや。いまはそんなことを考えている場合ではない。

      Like

      • So that’s the raw? Well, that’s because it’s an incomplete sentence, so using machine translator won’t give decent translation. He(mc) cut short his thought before completing the sentence. The literal translation should be “How come she ..(this is the missing part of the sentence).. me…”
        You can cut the last part altogether: “How come she …. ”
        Or maybe a little twist: “How come she does not …. ”
        or something like that

        Like

  7. Instead of good walker, it might be good hiker… because they’re hiking through the woods?

    Thank you kindly for picking this up!

    Like

  8. Metastasis. Really?

    Metastasis – the development of secondary malignant growths at a distance from a primary site of cancer.

    “Because if I’m wearing Gerbera’s work as before, there is a possibility that the same metastasisers may suspect the source. “

    So how in the world did you select that word? I had to google it just to find out what it means, and I still have no clue how that fits in that sentence.

    Like

  9. Thanks for the chapter.

    “metastasisers or metastasisies which is better?” <- transportees; while it's true that 転移 is usually rendered as "metastasis" by translation engines, that's just one of its meanings: the medical one. That meaning is chosen due to said engines working with real-world themes and the other real-world meanings (moving with the times and transfer of learning) not fitting, but in fantasy settings it means "transference" or "teleportation" (in mystery settings it means "teleportation" or "apport"). Metastasis is the transference of tumoral cells in a cancer from the core of it to other places.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t think everyone is marching on foot, wearing plate armor is approaching a good Walker. <no clue about the “Good Walker”> <- difference in syntactic use; while it makes sense in japanese, it has to be rephrased (also, the sentence is wrong): "Everyone was moving on foot, but despite they all being wearing plate armor, they are approaching at an unthinkable good pace."

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Thank you very much for the chapter!

    Good job on a first translation. It feels a tad bit awkward at times, but it is understandable overall.
    Thanks again for bringing back a good series.

    Like

    • Thanks for the encouragement, this was also a semi unedited (self edited) rough draft so that was some what to be expected, as of now I am teamed up with Raising the Dead so a fully edited version of this chapter will likely be posted there in the near future while I may still continue using this site to post the rough drafts before they go onto Raising the Dead for feedback.

      Like

  11. Thanks for picking this up. I put this novel on hold when I got tired of the long wait for each release. I hope you can continue at a decent rate in the future so I don’t have to worry about indefinite cliff hangers. Thank you for the trouble 🙇

    Like

    • I will attempt to but it will depend on how much homework I get and chapter length. The good news is that the next chapter is 90% translated, and I have teamed up with Raising the Dead to improve the quality, so the content will be posted there from now on with and possibly some of the rough drafts here.

      Like

Leave a comment